Michael Cart on Printz awards that might have been

podcastIn this podcast, Infopeople’s book maven Michael Cart asks seven award-winning authors what books might have won the Printz Award if the book prize had been established years, even decades earlier (the first Printz award was given to Walter Dean Myers for Monster in 2000). Their choices may surprise you!

  • Ellen Wittlinger: Celine by Brock Cole
  • M. T. Anderson: Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury
  • Garret Freymann-Weyr: Dinky Hocker Shoots Smack by M. E. Kerr
  • Terry Trueman: If Rock and Roll Were a Machine by Terry Davis and Chinese Handcuffs by Chris Crutcher
  • Gene Luen Yang: The Land of Nod Rockabye Book by Jay Stephens
  • Aidan Chambers: The Owl Service by Alan Garner
  • Helen Frost: The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

You’ll have to listen to the podcast to learn why they chose these titles. And if you have title ideas of your own, Michael invites you to email them to him him at mrmcart@aol.com or submit a comment to this post!

Listen now: 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.